Torn Page Top.png
 

Media Kit

Below you'll find bios of various length, high-resolution photos, and information about my books.  If there's anything else you need, don't hesitate to contact me for more information! (•‿•)

THE BONE SPINDLE

THE SEVERED THREAD

Contact Information

Email: leslievedderwrites [at] gmail.com | Website: www.leslievedder.comTwitter: @leslievedder | Instagram: @leslie.vedder

•  For ARC requests, events, and publicity for The Bone Spindle trilogy, contact: Tessa Meischeid, tmeischeid [at] penguinrandomhouse.com

•  For rights inquires, blurb requests and book business, contact Leslie’s agent: Carrie Hannigan, carrie [at] hgliterary.com


•  For Film/TV inquires, contact: Chris Lupo, Verve Talent & Literary Agents


•  For speaking and classroom visits, please email me directly at leslievedderwrites [at] gmail.com

 

Author Bios

Author Bio Short

Leslie Vedder (she/her) is the ABA bestselling author of The Bone Spindle. She grew up on fantasy books, anime, fanfiction, and the Lord of the Rings movies, and met her true love in high school choir. She currently lives in Colorado with her wife and two ultra-spoiled house cats. Find her online at leslievedder.com.

Author Bio Full

 

Leslie Vedder (she/her) is a queer ace author who loves fairytale retellings with girl adventurers and heroes! She grew up on fantasy books, anime, fanfiction and the Lord of the Rings movies, and met her true love in high school choir. She graduated from San Francisco State University with a B.A. in creative writing and currently lives in Colorado with her wife and two spoiled house cats.

When she's not reading or writing, you can find her watching anime and sci-fi shows, walking in the woods and pretending they're enchanted forests, or playing old video games. She always collects all the Skulltulas in Zelda and all the Dalmation puppies in Kingdom Hearts.

Her debut YA novel THE BONE SPINDLE (Penguin/Razorbill) was an indie bestseller. The sequel THE SEVERED THREAD comes out Feb 7, 2023. Find her online at leslievedder.com.

 

High Resolution Author Photos

Click on an image to expand or download. All photos by Michelle Dotter.

 
 

High Resolution Book Covers

Click on an image for artist / designer information or to expand or download

Book Info - The Bone Spindle

US | RAZORBILL PENGUIN TEEN | Jan 11, 2022 | ISBN 9780593325827 | 416 pages | English 

Under 50 Word Description THE BONE SPINDLE is a genderflipped Sleeping Beauty meets Indiana Jones starring two girl treasure hunters, who team up to break the curse on a sleeping prince, in a fast-paced action-adventure/romance for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and All the Stars and Teeth! Short Description THE BONE SPINDLE is a genderflipped Sleeping Beauty meets Indiana Jones starring two girl partners: Fi, a bookish treasure hunter destined to wake the sleeping prince, and Shane, a queer ax-wielding mercenary falling for a mysterious witch. Traps, ruins, riddles, curses, a little bit of true love and a whole lot of snark! Full Description Sleeping Beauty meets Indiana Jones in this thrilling fairytale retelling for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and All the Stars and Teeth. Fi is a bookish treasure hunter with a knack for ruins and riddles, who definitely doesn't believe in true love. Shane is a tough-as-dirt girl warrior from the north who likes cracking skulls, pretty girls, and doing things her own way. Briar Rose is a prince under a sleeping curse, who's been waiting a hundred years for the kiss that will wake him. Cursed princes are nothing but ancient history to Fi--until she pricks her finger on a bone spindle while exploring a long-lost ruin. Now she's stuck with the spirit of Briar Rose until she and Shane can break the century-old curse on his kingdom. Dark magic, Witch Hunters, and bad exes all stand in her way--not to mention a mysterious witch who might wind up stealing Shane's heart, along with whatever else she's after. But nothing scares Fi more than the possibility of falling in love with Briar Rose. Set in a lush world inspired by beloved fairytales, The Bone Spindle is a fast-paced young adult fantasy full of adventure, romance, found family, and snark.

 

Praise for The Bone Spindle

"This gender-flipped retelling effortlessly melds romance, adventure, and fantasy. Highly recommended." School Library Journal (starred review) "An enchanting read for fans of fairy-tale romance and girls with battle axes." Kirkus Reviews "Packed with fully fleshed-out characters and lots of adventure, this book is a fun read that will easily draw fairy tale lovers. Vedder’s first novel nicely balances its exciting plot with touching matters of the heart." Booklist “[An] action-packed, gender-flipped “Sleeping Beauty” reenvisioning….Video game-style fantasy tropes and energetic plotting provide an alternative to Forgotten Realms and David Eddings for new readers of epic fantasy." Publishers Weekly "[A] splendid upheaval of a familiar fairy tale." —BCCB "The Bone Spindle is an energetic and adventurous genderbent retelling of "Sleeping Beauty" with a powerful female friendship at its core." Shelf Awareness “The Bone Spindle is an incredible YA fantasy debut from Leslie Vedder who delivers a smoothly confident and finely polished gender-flipped fairytale retelling." The Nerd Daily "THE BONE SPINDLE was a delight from start to finish, with smart banter, dreamy romance, and daring adventure across an intricate, curse-ridden world. I was charmed." — Rosaria Munda, author of The Aurelian Cycle

 

Press / Buzz for The Bone Spindle

• Debuted on the Indie Bestseller listAmazon selected THE BONE SPINDLE as a January YA Editor's pick • Apple Books selected THE BONE SPINDLE for their Winter's Most Anticipated Book List • Amazon included THE BONE SPINDLE in its list of Rising Stars: New YA Fantasy Authors to WatchGoodreads listed THE BONE SPINDLE in "January's Most Anticipated New YA Novels"Book Riot named THE BONE SPINDLE one of "12 YA Fantasy Books to Eagerly Expect in 2022"Bookstacked picked THE BONE SPINDLE as one of "The Most-Anticipated YA Book Releases of 2022"Frolic included THE BONE SPINDLE in "The Top YA Reads Hitting Shelves in January 2022"Buzzfeed listed THE BONE SPINDLE in "23 New Fantasy And Science Fiction Novels We're Excited About"Popsugar listed THE BONE SPINDLE as one of "The Best YA Books of 2022"Buzzfeed included THE BONE SPINDLE in "32 Great LGBTQ+ Young Adult Novels To Warm Up Your Winter"Bustle included THE BONE SPINDLE in "The Most Anticipated Books Of January 2022"The Nerd Daily listed THE BONE SPINDLE in "Must-Have 2022 Queer Book Releases"Epic Reads listed THE BONE SPINDLE among "17 Most Anticipated YA Books to Read in January"Autostraddle included THE BONE SPINDLE in "80 Queer and Feminist Books Coming Out Winter 2022"Book Riot included THE BONE SPINDLE in "The Best Genderflipped Retellings"LGBTQReads listed THE BONE SPINDLE in "Most Anticipated LGBTQ+ Young Adult Fiction: January-June 2022"Publishers Weekly included THE BONE SPINDLE in their "Once Upon a Twist" Retellings RoundupCulturess revealed the cover and an exclusive excerpt of THE BONE SPINDLE • Publishers Weekly US Deal Announcement: Arianne Lewin at Putnam acquires THE BONE SPINDLE

 

Book Info - The Severed Thread

US | RAZORBILL PENGUIN TEEN | Feb 07, 2023 | ISBN 9780593325858 | 416 pages | English 

Under 50 Word Description Clever, bookish Fi and her brash, ax-wielding partner Shane are back in this action-packed sequel to bestselling YA fantasy THE BONE SPINDLE, a genderflipped Sleeping Beauty meets Indiana Jones, perfect for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and All the Stars and Teeth! Short Description Clever, bookish Fi and her brash, ax-wielding partner Shane are back in this action-packed sequel to bestselling YA fantasy The Bone Spindle, a genderflipped Sleeping Beauty meets Indiana Jones. The girl treasure hunters—joined by the newly awakened sleeping prince—journey into the heart of the fallen kingdom of magic seeking a way to defeat the Spindle Witch. But the dangerous witch Red is right on their heels, and the ruins of Andar are full of deadly secrets and dark curses. Full Description Clever, bookish Fi and her brash, ax-wielding partner Shane are back in this action-packed sequel to bestselling YA fantasy The Bone Spindle Fi has awakened the sleeping prince, but the battle for Andar is far from over. The Spindle Witch, the Witch Hunters, and Fi’s own Butterfly Curse all stand between them and happily ever after. Shane has her partner’s back. But she’s in for the fight of her life against Red, the right hand of the Spindle Witch who she’s also, foolishly, hellbent on saving. Briar Rose would do anything to restore his kingdom. But there’s a darkness creeping inside him—a sinister bond to the Spindle Witch he can’t escape. All hopes of restoring Andar rest on deciphering a mysterious book code, finding the hidden city of the last Witches, and uncovering a secret lost for centuries—one that just might hold the key to the Spindle Witch’s defeat. If they can survive long enough to reach it... Set in a world of twisted fairytales, The Severed Thread combines lost ruins, ride-or-die friendships, and heart-pounding romance.

Press / Buzz for The Severed Thread